Mania

Time presses on

The feelings are not all gone

I can sing a song

My life is moving along

I look back and can’t believe it

I’m come so far, now I mean it

The pain is still there

But it hurts less, though I still care

I remember the tears in the night

I sure put up a fight

My arms were bruised

The security guards, their strength they used

They kept me locked away

I could not go outside and play

Inside the institution I screamed

My life, it was more like something I’d dreamed

Actually more like a nightmare

Did my friends and family even care?

Some visited, most didn’t

I was all by myself for most of the day

2 hours family could visit, what would they say?

They’d urge me to get better

I didn’t understand I was under the weather

I thought I was fine, mostly feeling sublime

The mania felt great, if only they’d let me out to celebrate

They thought I was a danger

Risks and fighting were no stranger

I was impulsive and emotional

My heart and mind, they felt so full

Will I ever feel that way again?

It’s hard to say, I’m on the mend.

 

Leave a comment